Post 3

I swim a few laps, then decide to dry off. No one is left in the pool or the locker room, I’m guessing because it is time for supper. I will have all day to swim tomorrow. I collect my things, and start up to my room. I go over and try my portal. For some reason it doesn’t work. I feel too tired to take the steps, so I walk into the elevator. A man walks in the elevator, holding the door for me. He’s about an inch taller than me, and looks about my age. He smiles and says “Hi. I’m Aaron. I’m here for swimming. What about you?”
It takes me awhile to realize that he asked me a question. I reply
“I’m here for swimming too. My name is Sarah.”
“Nice to meet you.” He gives me another smile and I smile back. He has pale green eyes. I jump when the elevator beeps, and say “This is my floor.” “Mine too.” Aaron replies. We part separate ways, and I walk over to my door. Then he calls out. “Hey, do you want to go eat dinner together?” I readily reply “Yeah, sure, I’ll meet you out here in 10 minutes.” I smile to myself. I walk into my room and pick out a dress that I brought for special occasions. I fix my hair, hurrying as fast as possible. I grab my purse and walk out of my room. Aaron is already waiting for me. I check my watch. It is 7:00pm. “WHere do you want to eat?” Aaron asks me. I don’t know what to say, so I make an excuse. “I just got here this afternoon. I’m not really familiar with the area.” He nods and leads me to the elevator. He hits the button for the lobby floor and we wait for awhile in awkward silence. I have to say something. “So, how long have you been here?”
“One week.”
“Oh. So where are we going?”
“There’s this great restaurant about a 5 minute walk from here. I’m sure you’ll like it.”
“Well, I’m not that picky when it comes to food. Sounds great.”
Aaron was right. It is just a 5 minute walk away. the restaurant is called “Down Under” I guess its called that becasue we are in Australia after all. We walk in the entrance and ask for a table for two. We are seated right away. We take up our menus. I have no idea what to get, I have never eaten at a restaurant before. I ask Aaron for ideas.
“What are you getting?”
“I think that I’ll get steak. You can’t go wrong with that.”
“Is it good?”
“Yeah. Very.”
“Then I might get that too.”
“Fine with me. Maybe we can share it.”
“Fine with me.”
I give my best smile and close my menu. Aaron has handsome features. he is a gentleman too. The waiter comes up to our table and we order. It takes awhile for the food to come out, so we talk.
“So where are you from?” Aaron asks.
“North America. And you?”
“Same.”
“Did any family come with you?”
It was just an innocent question, but it pricks my heart. Trying to hide it, I quickly reply,
“No…”
He looks at me as if expecting me to elaborate. In an attempt to break the silence, I blurt out the truth.
“I don’t really have any. That I know of.”
“Oh. Sorry, I didn’t know.”
“That’s fine. It wasn’t your fault.”
Just then, our food comes, complete with an extra plate for me. The steak looks delicious. He cuts it in half. We say the blessing over the food, and begin to eat. We don’t talk much while eating, we just exchange looks. I look at him, he looks at me, our eyes meet, both our eyes go down. Or vice-versa. The waiter brings the bill. I look at it.
“Oh my goodness.”
“What’s wrong?”
“I didn’t know it would be this exspensive. I don’t have enough money.”
“Your funny, I’m paying for it. Haven’t you ever been on a date before?”
“No.” I repy quietly.
“Well, I find that hard to believe.” He smiles. He pays, then we start the walk back to the hotel. The portals to the room are still not working, so we take the elevator. he walks me to my door.
“I had a nice time tonight. See you tomorrow.”
He nods, then leans in, and kisses me on the cheek.
“See you tomorrow.” He replies.
I go back into my room, floating.

5 thoughts on “Post 3

  1. Thanks! I wrote is just after finishing reading Insurgent and I wanted to write about crushes:) lol and btw, “e”, you should make a blog:) it would be awesome:)

Leave a Reply

