Day 2

I look up to see the massive skyscraper that will be my home for the next 2 months or so. You may be wondering where my parents are. Well, I never really knew my parents. I was and I guess I still am an orphan. I was adopted when I was 1 year old. It never really bothered me to not know my parents, because I didn’t feel as if I was missing out on anything. Once I came of age, I submitted a form to the government asking for a living quarters. People don’t buy houses like they used to. It is a complete waste of money. Now we live for free so we can put more money towards piecing our economy back together. I enter the doors of the large olympic athlete building. I walk through the loby to the front desk. The lady working there says to place my hand on a scanner. When I do, it tells me what room to go to and distributes a key. I thank her and start walking up to room A27. The top floor. There are 26 floors, each for one letter in the alphabet. The top is A, and it descends all the way down to Z, the main floor. I step into a tube and the floor shoots up under me. I come to a stop in my room. I step out of the tube. My luggage should be here soon. I wouldn’t want to get in the way. I look around. It is a large room, it has a kitchen, a bathroom, a sort of living room, and a bedroom. It is very spacious compared to my apartment. I here a swoosh behind me and then see two sleek suitcases arrive in the tube. One has clothes and such in it, and the other has food. I’m not rich, and I can’t afford to go to a resturant and pay $50 for a hot dog every night. In the olden days, I am tols that prices were much cheaper. Most people now adays just eat from their rations that are free. If you want more rations before the month ends, you only have to pay a little. The rations are like rice cakes, but you can make them taste like anything if you put a sauce on them. Or you can eat them plain. I’m hungry for something salty so I put pretzel-flavored sauce on it and devour it hungrily. I haven’t eaten since breakfast this morning. Now that I have eaten, I decide to unpack and explore my room. I put all my clothes into drawers and everything else I have away. I notice that there is a closet by the tube and in my bedroom. The kitchen has a working sink and a refrigerator. The fridge has snacks and such in it, if I get hungry between eals. On the counter, there is a bowl of the different sauces you can put on you rations. All the walls are a gold color and the sofa is brown. I need to go figure out where the practicing will be. I step into the tube and go down to floor Z. I ask the lady at the lobby desk for directions. She told me to go outside, take a right, walk a few block, take another right, then immediately turn left and I will see the stadium. I walk right, right, then left and I do see the stadium. It is huge, as big as 20 large apartment buildings put together. I spot the enrance and stroll inside. I’m already ready to swim and I follow signs on the wall to the pool. It is also huge. I put my things in a locker and walk up to the edge of the water. With a deep breath, I jump in. The cool water surrounds me as I resurface, kick of the wall, and satart swimming. I’m so glad I was chosen to be in the olympics. I get out of the pool on the other side. People from almost every country are here. I see a group heading towards me. I reckognize them at once, but their names slip my mind as they speak to me.
“Well, I didn’t know that their leting amateurs into the olympics now.”
At this moment I reckognize her, she is North American, like me. She is the champion swimmer, Lucy Forest. She won the Olympics last time for swimmign. I had always looked up to her, and now I realize that she is the snobbiest person I may have evr met. I can’t think of a good comeback, so I jump into the pool and practice holding my breath for as long as I can, which should be enough time for Lucy and her friend to go away. When I surface, they are gone.

Leave a Reply

